Missouri City Car Accident Lawyer
If you or a loved one have been the victim of an unfortunate car accident, you require the assistance of a car accident lawyer in Missouri City at McDonald Worley to get the justice that you deserve. You might be thinking along the lines of, how much are my medical bills, how will my car repairs be paid, and who will pay or how will I be compensated for my lost earnings.
At our law firm, we are proud to offer all injury victims a free initial consultation that allows them to get clarifications regarding any questions that they might have while at the same time getting quality legal guidance from our team of experienced accident attorneys.
Our team of personal injury lawyers has a combined experience of close to 100 years representing the interested of injury victim rights. Our knowledge and experience have seen us earn recognition as one of the leading law firms in the USA. We are proud to help people when they require it most and are committed to getting our clients the compensation they deserve.
Table of Contents
Texas Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents
In Missouri City, the statute of limitations is two years. That means you have precisely two years from the date of your collision to file a claim. If you don’t submit your claim within this stipulated period, your claim will be invalid. The court will also dismiss your claim when it has gone beyond the statute of limitations. If this doesn’t happen, then the defendant’s attorney can file a motion to dismiss your claim. Chances are that the presiding judge will approve this motion.
What Happens if the Other Driver is Uninsured?
What if the other driver does not have insurance coverage or their insurance policy is not enough to provide coverage for damages. What happens next?
In case you have suffered an injury and the party at fault doesn’t have insurance coverage for your damages, you may still have options to get compensated—for instance, the Letter of Protection.
Texas regulations require financial liability from all road users, and they must carry with them the minimum liability insurance amount to provide coverage for damages resulting from their negligence. In 2019, the minimum amount was raised from $25,000 to $30,000 for every person.
But still, the $30,000 will not be enough to provide coverage for most damages and fully reimburse injured people from the accident. Although the law mandates people to carry the insurance, the majority of Texans simply don’t adhere to that.
Our lawyers will look into other ways the party at fault can provide reimbursement without having an insurance policy. However, those people with no insurance often don’t possess any assets that can be used to provide coverage for damages.
But there’s a way you can get compensated. You can try the demand letter.
Under Texas law, your insurance company is mandated to provide you Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage, also referred to as UM/UIM. This law is meant to protect the rights of accident victims from being infringed and left with no options as a result of another party’s negligence on the road.
Since the law mandates this law to be provided, the only way you won’t receive this cover is if you were to decline it in writing. If you didn’t make any such rejection, chances are you may still have coverage. It should amount to cover limitations for the liability protection you are paying.
Before relying on your UM/UIM coverage, there are essential guidelines that will have to be followed. You can learn more about this inside your policy. Expect to see some insurance companies offsetting claim credits against the UM/UIM cover they promise to offer. And this is permissible to some extent, according to Texas Law.
Having a seasoned legal representative guide you through the steps and investigate recovery points is the best way to pursue reimbursement for injuries suffered.
How Do I Obtain a Vehicle Accident Report?
Following an accident, are you aware of what you should do to get your accident on the record and obtain a copy of the accident report? The majority of people don’t! The first thing you have to do is know which law enforcement agency was at the scene of the accident.
It’s standard practice for the officer on the scene to give you a slip of paper indicating the department and officer on scene. If you weren’t given said paper, you would have to find out this information using other means. The first place to go looking is at the City Police Department, Texas Dept. of Public Safety or County Sheriff.
If the car accident took place;
- Within the city boundaries, you can get in touch the local police department of that city and request your car accident report copy
- Outside the city boundaries, you’ll have to check with the County Sheriff who will contact the accident division and request for the report
- Outside the city boundaries with no County Sheriff, you will want to check with the DPS office
Some agencies will be responsive to requests made via mail, while others may need requests to be handwritten. All in all, the fee to obtain the copy will go for a few dollars.
Contact Our Missouri City Car Accident Lawyers Today!
If you have been involved in a car accident that has resulted in injuries and you are looking for the best Missouri City lawyer for your claim, you can turn to McDonald Worley.
We offer our services around the clock, which means that we can provide you with professional legal services and advice when you need it. The best part is that we offer our services on a contingency basis.
To book your free initial consultation with our team of professional auto accident attorneys, call McDonald Worley now! We have over 20 years of experience standing up for the rights of injury victims in Missouri City and throughout Texas.
Get in touch with is today and start the process of receiving the compensation that you are entitled to for damages suffered!