Personal Injury Attorney in Irvine

A serious accident can happen in just a split second, but any physical pain or emotional distress resulting from it can linger for months, if not years. In fact, numerous victims never get to enjoy a full recovery. Aside from the trauma, both physical and psychological, the expenses involved with lost income and medical bills can derail a whole family’s financial future. Here at McDonald Worley, we have personal injury attorneys who truly appreciate the difficulties that you face.. Our personal injury firm is here to help anyone in the Irvine area in their struggle to get the compensation they deserve to restore their life.

How Much Will A Personal Injury Lawyer In Irvine Cost Me?

Here at McDonald Worley, we work strictly on what is known as a contingency fee basis. That means we do not charge our clients any fees upfront. In fact, if we do not win your case, then we do not charge you anything. We take care of any costs related to your case litigation, which means you can be free to concentrate on your recovery without the stress of legal fees.

Why Would I Hire A Personal Injury Lawyer?

If you’re thinking about filing a specific injury claim, then a good lawyer makes all the difference in the world. The statistics prove it. Plaintiffs that hire accident attorneys wind up enjoying bigger settlement amounts as compared to those who choose to just represent themselves. Our team of trial attorneys brings their expertise to the table when dealing with insurance companies in Irvine, CA, negotiations or going to trial.

Do Irvine Personal Injury Claims Have Time Limits?

The laws of the state of California require victims to file their lawsuits or claims within a pre-established length of time after the initial injury date. These are called statutes of limitation, and they vary based on what kind of injury is being claimed. The following is a list of the maximum lengths of time you have to file lawsuits in the city of Irvine, as of the time of writing:

  • Injury to a person: 2 years
  • Slander and/or libel: 1 year
  • Trespassing: 3 years
  • Fraud: 3 years
  • Damage to a person’s property: 3 years
  • Cases of professional malpractice:
  • Legal: 1 year after discovery, with a maximum of 4 years following the act
  • Medical: 1 year after discovery, or 3 years of a known injury
  • Veterinary: 1 year after the injury or death of an animal

How Is Fault In Any Personal Injury Case Defined By California Law?

The state of California is one that practices comparative negligence. This means that fault is divided and assigned between all involved parties. Under this kind of law, plaintiffs can receive damages, even when some of their own negligence wound up contributing to the accident. The damages a plaintiff is awarded could get reduced, just based on the plaintiff’s share of fault. For instance, if you were deemed 25 percent at fault in a $400,000 settlement, then you would only get $300,000. One example of this might be a defendant accused of drunk driving proving plaintiff negligence due to having a broken tail light. California is a state that also follows what is known as the pure comparative fault rule. That means that even when a defendant is deemed 99 percent at fault, they’re still able to collect damages.

What Is My Personal Injury Case Worth?

Any personal injury case value depends on the amount of damages related to your incurred injuries. Damages might get awarded for mental anguish, loss of earnings, medical bills both now and in the future, pain and suffering, loss of earning power, and loss of consortium, among others. In some situations, a court might award punitive damages as well. Punitive damages get awarded when a defendant’s wrongful behavior is deemed especially reprehensible. Also, whatever personal injury attorney near Irvine that you decide to work with can have a tremendous influence over what amount you get to recover. McDonald Worley routinely get referrals from many other personal injury attorneys

Hire A McDonald Worley Personal Injury Attorney In Irvine Right Away

Our legal team helps residents of Irvine who are injury victims from workers’ compensation to car accidents. Call us at (877) 721-3423, use our online form, or take advantage of our website chat service to set up a free consultation. We even make hospital and home visits, and we never charge fees unless we win your compensation!